Energy Security & Independent Act of 2007 (EISA)
New performance standards for general purpose light bulbs
Requires light bulbs to deliver a minimum amount of light per unit of energy consumed
Mandates 25% increase in lumen per watt efficiency over current incandescent technology

The standard will be phased in between 2012 and 2014

Other Facts:
EISA is NOT a ban on incandescent bulbs nor is it a purchase ban. EISA is technology neutral and is a ban on manufacturing and shipment of inefficient products. There are 22 special purpose light bulb types that are exempted.

EISA Compliant Technologies:


  • Currently available new infrared halogen may be twice as efficient as standard incandescent
  • Will be priced below CFLs currently meeting EISA requirements - 72 watt, 53 watt, 43 watt, and 28 watt CFLs
  • Surpass EISA requirements
  • Still have some light quality and proper application challenges
  • Still have mercury and need to be recycled


  • Surpass EISA requirements
  • CONS - higher cost and newer technology
  • Commercial fixtures need to be 25% more efficient. Only more energy efficient electronic ballasts are currently being manufactured. T-12 linear lamps are being phased out and replaced with more efficient T-8.